A tribute to Hallowe’en

I don’t think I’ve voluntarily dressed up in a costume since before my age was into the double digits.  I haven’t carved a pumpkin or pulled out its guts (eww!) and baked them since I was forced to as a teacher at a school attempting to immerse international adult students into our culture.  I’ve never understood what the ‘fun’ expected of this holiday (not even;  do you get a day off work?) is.  You can probably surmise that I don’t care for this particular sort of yearly endeavour.

However, because of finding myself continuously swimming upstream during Hallowe’en, I’ve not only entered an almost hypnotic regression to find the root of my costume disgust (didn’t work, btw),  but also challenged myself to find three things I like about Hallowe’en.  So here they are:

#3

Who doesn’t love this movie?  Crackheads who hate Hallowe’en, that’s who!  Oh wait…

#2

Clearly the best scare flick and scream queen of all time.

#1

Ok, so they’re not associated with Hallowe’en, but they do wear costumes 24/7.

Happy Hallowe’en, Freaks (and Geeks).

About seburnt

I own 4C and teach at University of Toronto. View all posts by seburnt

Leave a Reply

