Coursetree: A Developing Idea

Yesterday, I mentioned that I’d determined the best direction to take professionally was to start my own business.  With a few steps taken towards this goal, I’m in it up to my eyeballs now.  I’m not sure how quickly it’ll take off or if it’ll bring me any immediate business, but I’m excited about its potential and how managing it will fill my time while other opportunities may be brewing in the background.

Keeping to the ideas I determined were services I’m enthusiastic about providing and qualified to do so, I tried to come up with a business name that would not only reflect these services to at least a vague degree, but also be fresh and unexpected.  Thanks to not only this business, but another I’m involved in with some colleagues (and good friends!), naming has proven to be one of the hardest challenges right off the bat.  But after playing around with thesaurus.com, pondering what word combinations sounded interesting together, yet was meaningful, the name I feel most accomplished everything, as you may have surmised, is Coursetree!  Simply put, English language teaching is my passion and trees not only represent knowledge, but are also organic and not contrived.

Step 4 Step 5 Step 6
A Mission Statement Logo Website
Coursetree will offer project services to schools and organizations in the ESL/EFL industry.  Its mission: to work with its clients to create meaningful and effective English language courses for their students and facilitate their teachers’ professional growth.  These projects optionally will include not only the creation, but also the administration and implementation of courses and workshops so a smooth beginning and optimal end is reached.

coursetree.ca

March 1, 2010

Step 7, which is to set up and meet with contacts I already know, has already begun! I’ve met with Cornerstone Academic College and EF International Toronto, so far.  I figure I should probably get the email addresses, website and administration completed before I meet with too many more.  All in due “course”.  Hehehe.

About seburnt

I own 4C and teach at University of Toronto. View all posts by seburnt

3 responses to “Coursetree: A Developing Idea

Leave a Reply

